Why not? Let’s try it!

Most of the time, you can notice that the student who you work whit is going to be ok later of their life. Some of them are maybe trying to find their own way bit diffrently, but it’s all right as we know. In my life I have admired handful of my friends who know what they want in their life. I appreciate that they are willing to do the work what is required to be great in what they do. I did not know what I wanted to be professionally.  So, my way to find a job what I liked happened by accident. It was not planned at all and I was saying to myself

Näyttökuva 2018-3-16 kello 16.49.46

During my childhood I was lucky that my parents encouraged me and they did not criticize me. Of course, there was times of tough love, but it was needed for sure. One of the best things what I managed to get from my parents was the attitude that I’m going to be ok whatever happens.

A few months ago I was looking my Instagram and I noticed one picture from one of the all-time greats in basketball.  He is Ray Allen and during his career as a professional basketball player he had amazing work ethic. Everyday he worked his craft and became one of the best 3-point shooters in NBA’s history. The headline of the picture that he posted was 10 Things that require zero talent.

10 THINGS

10 THINGS THAT REQUIRE ZERO TALENT

Nowadays one of my biggest challenges is trying to make the changes in students mindsets. In  short term and in long term it is difficult to make difference in students behavior. But as we all know positive mindset is infectious. Doing things a little bit differently is what keeps me going and gives me the edge who I am as a teacher. Once in the while it’s good to remind ourselves of these 10 talents and lets try, why not?

 

Written by Mikko Hankaniemi

Photo by Brandi Rett on Unsplash

Leave a comment